Listen To Arcade Fire’s New Album For Free

Arcade Fire’s new release Suburbs is one that reiterates why they are such a successful  band. Their signature blend of queer instruments fronted by husband/wife duo Win Butler and Régine Chassagne shows a mature development in their sound since Neon Bible. Produced by Mark Dravs who has worked with the likes of Brian Eno, Bjork and Coldplay, this is arguably their best LP yet.

Thanks to NPR Music the album has been made available for streaming but please make sure to buy the album as well.

Arcade Fire will be headlining Reading and Leeds Festival at the end of this month.

Suburbs was released today on Merge

I’m Back

Having successfully completed the hitch-hike without dying as well as end of year exams I finally have time to post blog entries again.

It’s setting out to be a very exciting Summer for music with the Dead Weather having released ‘Sea of Cowards’ on May 11th and LCD Soundsystem’s ‘This is Happening’ being released on May 17th. That alongside new albums from Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster, 65daysofstatic, The Black Keys and The Chemical Brothers amongst others is enough to make anyone’s ears twitch.

The new single ‘Swoon’ from The Chemical Brothers’ upcoming album ‘Further’ has got me particularly excited accompanied by an excellent video from Adam Smith and Marcus Lyal. The album is set to be released as a visual record in DVD format with corresponding films for each track and apparently contains no guest vocals unlike previous album ‘We are the Night’ which featured artists such as Willy Mason, Lightspeed Champion, Klaxons and Ali Love.

‘Swoon’ has already seen a brilliant remix from the likes of Don Diablo which I have posted here alongside the original:

‘Further’ will be released on June 7th

First Track From Black Keys New Album

I announced details in an earlier post about the Ohio blues-rock music duo ‘The Black Keys’ upcoming album ‘Brothers’. Their last album ‘Attack, Sustain, Release’ came out two years ago although many of you would have been aware of the collaboration they did towards the end of last year with various hip-hop and R&B artists entitled ‘Blackroc’.

The band have recently uploaded the first track from the album ‘Tighten Up’ on their Myspace page. The only track on the album to be produced by Danger Mouse this definitely comes through with the addition of whistling and his signature upbeat tempo and groovy guitars. Even though Danger mouse isn’t producing the whole thing i’m sure it will be very good.

Hear it right here and judge for yourself

‘Brothers’ will be released on May 18th

Erol Alkan & Boys Noize New E.P Out Now

Many of you would have heard the fantastic release last year from Erol Alkan and Boys Noize ‘Waves/Death Suite’ and to our delight they have released a new E.P which arguably improves on the first. This time they have switched the order of their names around and rather than being on Boys Noize’s ‘Boys Noize Records’ label, the E.P has been released on Erol’s ‘Phantasy Sound’ Label.

Both tracks are excellent and you can really hear both the producer’s individual sounds. With ‘Lemonade’ having already been remixed by the likes of Deaf Tunes it is shaping up to be one of the biggest dance releases of 2010.

The new E.P entitled ‘Avalanche/Lemonade’ is out now and can be purchased on beatport here

Listen to New MGMT Album Now

Despite ‘Congratulations’ not being officially released until next month, the Brooklyn band have made the entire album available to stream on their website here following its accidental leak where they stated: ‘Hey everybody, the album leaked, and we wanted you to be able to hear it from us. We wanted to offer it as a free download but that didn’t make sense to anyone but us’.

If you like the album make sure to buy it when it is actually comes out.

‘Congratulations’ will be released officially on April 13th

First Song Off MGMT’s New Album Revealed

Psychedelic Brooklyn duo MGMT have just given us an insight into the sort of thing we should expect from upcoming album ‘Congratulations’ which is set for an April 13th release as they have unveiled its first song ‘Flash Delirium’. The first in what the band described as “a collection of nine individual musical tours de force sequenced to flow with sonic and thematic coherence.” As expected it sounds very psychedelic and drug induced whilst at the same time combining indie riffs and electronic synths.

Download the song NOW! via the band’s website

Black Keys Announce Title of New Album

American rock-blues duo from Ohio ‘The Black Keys’ have announced the title and tracklisting of their upcoming album’Brothers’. Consisting of vocalist and guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney, this will be the bands sixth studio album and the third on Nonesuch records. Their last album ‘Attack Sustain Release’ in 2008 was rated very highly among critics and the song ‘I Got Mine’ made number 23 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 100 best songs of 2008.

Unlike the last record which was produced by Danger Mouse, (‘Tighten Up’ is the only song on the new album produced by Danger Mouse) most of the record is produced by the band themselves with Mark Neill contributing to some of the songs.

tracklisting is as follows:

1) Everlasting Night
2) Next Girl
3) Tighten Up
4) Howlin’ For You
5) She’s Long Gone
6) Black Mud
7) The Only One
8) Too Afraid to Love You
9) Ten Cent Pistol
10) Sinister Kid
11) The Go Getter
12) I’m Not the One
13) Unknown Brother
14) Never Gonna Give You Up (Jerry Butler)
15)These Days

‘Brothers’ will be released on May 18th

Fancy New Music From Zoo Brazil

New Techno release from Swedish producer John Andersson which came out on February 15th. Having released huge numbers of tracks under different aliases and writing the Kylie Minogue song ‘One’ he has gained a decent reputation in the music industry. As expected from the Scandinavian it is an excellent piece of minimal tech-house.

‘Fancy’ can be heard here.

Also released in conjunction is a terrific remix by French producer Popof, one of my personal favourite techno djs which can be heard here.

Miike Snow – Sylvia (Remixes)

Out this month, a selection of remixes of the track ‘Silvia’, from Miike Snow’s self-titled album the single of which came out on January 25th. This selection of remixes sees some great producers giving their own interpretation of the the track. It’s tough to decide which one is best with Felix Da Housecat, Sinden and Hugg and Peep presenting equally exquisite renditions. More information can be found here.

Miike Snow have also released a new single with djs Crookers who remixed their hit single ‘Animal’ last year calledy Remedy.

Japandroids – Art Czars

Brand new track from Japandroids showing their intentions for 2010. Less home studio sounding than anything from ‘Post Nothing’ but still that grunginess and raw vocals that give them their characteristic sound.

Japandroids: “Art Czars”