Terry Gilliam To Direct Live Webcast of Arcade Fire Show

Here’s something to get the loins excited: not only are award winning indie-rock band Arcade Fire publishing a live webcast of their show at New York’s Madison Square Gardens on August 5th at 22:00 ET, but according to an AP report it is going to be directed by animator and director Terry Gilliam. Being a massive fan of Gilliam from his Monty Python days to his innovative and far-fetched films such as Brazil and 12 Monkeys, I can only begin to wonder at what he has in store.

Apparently it’s the first of a five part series called Unstaged appearing on Vevo and Youtube and put on by American Express. So far the only other acts that have been confirmed are The Roots and John Legend. The webcast will be able to be streamed from here but until then here is the trailer:

Introducing Aliases Featuring Ex-Sikth Guitarist Pin

It’s been 2 years since the split of  the highly experimental progressive-metal band Sikth. Following the departure of vocalists Justin Hill and Mikee Goodman from the band, each of the members have been pretty much off the music radar or appearing in relatively small projects such as Goodman’s guest appearance on the Cyclamen track ‘Sleep Street’ and his current position in ‘Painted Smiles’ and ‘Sad Season’.

But now one of the guitarists, Pin, (the bald one) has announced his latest project ‘Aliases’ which features similar complicated  riffs that blends heavy guitar with the melodious and odd time signatures played out with polyphonic dexterity. However being so akin to Sikth may put fans of the earlier band off as it’s just not the same without the Goodman, Hill duo although vocalist Jay seems to possess a significant talent. Easiest thing to say I guess is judge for yourself.

Peter Gabriel – Scratch My Back, Now Fuck Off!

All hasn’t gone to plan with the rock legend Peter Gabriel’s supposed dual album release as artists aren’t cooperating.

Gabriel’s latest album ‘Scratch My Back’ which was released last month was a series of covers of new and old artists where he presented his own interpretation of the original songs. The initial plan was for Gabriel to release this album of covers and then follow it up with an album consisting of his songs covered by the artists in the first. Instead there has been a problem in that the artists who Gabriel had hoped to participate in the project are either missing deadlines or refusing to take part at all. As such, Gabriel has been forced to release the material as a series of monthly downloads available from iTunes.

In an interview with the New York Times, Gabriel said: “We may not get everybody, but I hope we will.” The first two songs, featuring Paul Simon’s version of Biko, and the Magnetic Fields’ take on Not One of Us, are available now, with others following over the coming months.

According to Pitchfork, Arcade Fire are not covering ‘Games Without Frontiers’ as originally promised. It is unclear whether they are covering another Gabriel song or if they are even participating in the project at all.

The only artist to officially turn Gabriel down was David Bowie. Gabriel covered the track ‘Heroes’on ‘Scratch My Back’. Instead, the song’s co-writer, Brian Eno, is to record something instead.

Death of Sparklehorse Frontman

Singer/songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Mark Linkous of the American alternative rock band Sparklehorse committed suicide last night according to Rolling Stone. The musician who was in his forties died of as yet unknown causes but a statement from his family confirms that it was suicide.

Linkous has not had it easy having become temporarily paralysed following the ingestion of a dangerous amount of valium and anti-depressants whilst on tour which caused him to be unable to move and cutting off the circulation to his legs which were pinned underneath him. When he was found 14 hours later he underwent a heart attack when medics attempted to straighten his legs due to the build up of potassium. The damage was significant and he almost lost both legs but instead he was left wheelchair bound for 6 months.

Linkous was said to be working on a new album for Sparklehorse that had almost reached completion and was set to be released on the Anti- record label.

Gogol Bordello Release Information About Forthcoming Album

Multi Ethnic Gypsy-Punk band Gogol Bordello have released details about their forthcoming album entitled ‘Trans-Continental Hustle’. The band’s fifth studio album it has been produced by the legendary Rick Rubin who has worked with artists from Slayer to Neil Diamond to the Beastie Boys to Run DMC.

Tracklisting is as follows:

1) Pala Tute
2) My Companjera
3) Sun Is On My Side
4) Rebellious Love
5) We Comin’ Rougher (Immigraniada)
6) When Universes Collide
7) Uma Menina Uma Cigana
8) Raise The Knowledge
9) Last One Goes The Hope
10) To Rise Above
11) In The Meantime In Pernambuco
12) Break The Spell
13) Trans-Continental Hustle

‘Trans-Continental Hustle’ will be released on April 26th

Gogol Bordello play ABC, Glasgow on May 9th

Two Folk Forces Collide – Fleet Foxes & Joanna Newsom

As I mentioned a while ago, Fleet Foxes frontman Robin Pecknold will be teaming up with harpist, pianist and singer-songwriter Joanna Newsom whose album ‘Have On Me’ was released last month. They are set to play a number of dates on a tour of the US towards the end of March and April.

Pecknold has recently added a new video to his youtube page of him playing a solo acoustic version of the song ‘On a Good Day’ from Joanna’s latest album where he puts his own spin on an already brilliant song. I can only hope that they release some material containing both of them playing together.

watch it here:

Joanna Newsom and Robin Pecknold’s US tour starts on March 28th at Mercy Lounge, Nashiville, TN

Christopher Lee – A New Power is Rising

I came across an article the other day in the Guardian that announced that Christopher Lee, the renowned English actor most famous for his roles as Dracula in the Alan Gibson adaptation, The main villain Francisco Scaramanger in the Bond film ‘Man With the Golden Gun’ and more recently as the evil wizard Saruman in the ‘Lord of the Rings Trilogy’ will be producing a symphonic metal album about the first Holy Roman Emperor, Charlemagne.

No stranger to singing, Lee is classically trained and has contributed to the soundtrack of ‘The Wicker Man’, the rock/comedy musical ‘The Return of Captain Invincible’ and played the Wizard King for the Italian Symphonic fantasy power metal band Rhapsody of Fire as well as doing some brief work with Manowar.

He returns then to another fantasy role where composer Marco Sabiu has arranged a full orchestra, heavy metal musicians and choir to accompany the 87 year old with apparent guest vocalists to feature as well. The lyrics are written by Bristol University graduate Marie-Claire Calvet and are said to be ‘mesmerising’ and really ‘bring the legend to life’.

More information and sample’s of the the songs can be found here.

See Christopher Lee talking about ‘Charlemagne’:

‘Charlemagne’ will be released on March 15th