EIFF – The Winners

After another successful film festival the results were as follows:

The esteemed Michael Powell Award for Best New British Feature Film went to Writer and Director Nick Whitfield for his debut feature Skeletons which according to the jury ‘best exemplifies Michael Powell in its original vision and dark humour’ whilst a notable mention was made to Edward and Rory Mchenry for their animated reinterpretation of modern British history Jackboots on Whitehall.

David Thewlis won the PPG Award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film for his portrayal of unpredictable IRA man Jim McCann in Bernard Rose’s adaptation of Howard Marks’ autobiography Mr Nice.

The Projector.tv International Feature Award went to The Dry Land, a family drama directed by Ryan Piers Williams.

The Standard Life Audience Award went to Get Low, starring Bill Murray and Robert Duvall.

The UK Film Council Award for Best British Short Film went to Daniel Mulloy for Baby.

The Moët New Directors Award went to Gareth Edwards for his science fiction film Monsters.

The Best Feature Documentary Award went to Director Laura Poitras for The Oath Where she provided a heartbreaking insight into al-Qaeda.

The Best International Short Film Award went top directors Fabio Grassadonia and Antonio Piazza for Rita.

The McLaren Award for Best New British Animation went to director of Stanley Pickle, Victoria Mather.

Finally, both the Scottish Short Documentary Award and the Edinburgh Short Film Nomination for the European Film Awards 2010 went to Director Anne Milne for Maria’s Way.