College of Paramedics’ Council representatives announced

Representatives to the College of Paramedics’ Council were announced at the College’s AGM held on 19 June.

Formal notice of the elections were given by the College on 10 April, with nominations received by 8 May. Ballot papers were issued on 28 May and returned by 12 June.

Below is a table of the complete list of council representatives, including those elected following the recent elections:

National or regional area Council member Council alternate(s)
Northern Ireland Andy McFarlane Ciaran McKenna
Scotland Dahrlene Tough* Isobel Donaldson, Neil Sinclair*
Wales Andy Jones* Alison Woodyatt*, Ross Whitehead*
North East Dan Haworth* Vacant
North West Chris Veevers* Glenys Harley
Yorkshire Liz Harris Shaun Knott
East Midlands Dave Saxby* Steve Porter
West Midlands Andrew Rosser* Simon Greenfield
East of England Tracy Nicholls Graham Clark*
South Central Ursula Rolfe Els Freshwater*
London William Broughton* Jonathan Street*
South East Coast Florian Breitenbach Michael Fletcher*
Great Western Jim Petter William Lee*
South West Kris Lethbridge* Richard Steggall
Independent David Reed Vacant
Military Kevin Swift Andy Smith*, Vacant
Student Michael Stevens* Kate Jackson

*denotes elected in 2015

Taken from Journal of Paramedic Practice, published 28 July 2015.

College of Paramedics gives notice of positions for upcoming council elections

The College of Paramedics (CoP) has given formal notice of the positions for election to the CoP Council in advance of its Annual General Meeting to be held on Friday 19 June 2015.

Consistent with the Governing Council’ s previous decisions regarding elections to Council positions, approximately 50% of Council positions will be subject to elections.

This is to avoid the potential loss of corporate knowledge through exposing all positions to elections in a single year.

Council positions for election in 2015 are: Scotland, Wales, North West, North East, East Midlands, West Midlands, London, South West, Student.

Alternate positions for election in 2015 are: Scotland, Wales (two positions), North East, East of England, South Central, London, South East Coast, Great Western, Military (two positions), Independent.

Nominations are invited by eligible members of the College who are full members and currently subscribed with the CoP. Therefore, only full and subscribed members are eligible to stand and vote.

Full members wishing to stand for election will need to receive nominations from four full and subscribed members, while student members wishing to stand should receive nominations from four subscribed student members.

Nominations are to be received no later than 17.00 hours on 8 May 2015.

Taken from Journal of Paramedic Practice, published 30 April 2015.