London’s Air Ambulance are high-flyers at Awards of Excellence



From left to right: Dr Gareth Davies, Capt Neil Jeffers, Graham Chalke, Dr Anne Weaver. Photo credit: Association of Air Ambulances

London’s Air Ambulance (LAA) has received notable recognition at the Association of Air Ambulances’ inaugural Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence, held on 18 November 2013 at the Millennium Gloucester Hotel in Kensington, London.

Hosted by BBC television presenter Louise Minchin and GP/comedian Dr Phil Hammond, four of the independently judged awards were presented to LAA, including Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year, Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year and Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to LAA’s Dr Gareth Davies, who was recognised for his role in pioneering the ‘doctor on board’ model for air ambulances, taking life-saving surgery and advanced pain relief from the hospital to the roadside.

The Awards are open to all air ambulance operations within the UK and nominations were made from patients, staff, management and the general public.

Bill Sivewright, Chairman of the Association of Air Ambulances, said:

‘Celebration of success, innovation and commitment of staff and volunteers is a central strategy of the Association, and these Awards are a clear demonstration of the strategy in action. It is intended that they will encourage competition and best practice across all disciplines of pre-hospital care and deliver real improvements in patient outcomes. So, every winner should be immensely proud of their success this year as trailblazer.’

The 2014 awards ceremony will take place on 17 November, with nominations being taken via the AAA website from 1 January until 1 September.

The full list of winners is as follows:

AAA Chairman’s Award
Clive Dickin, national director, AAA

Outstanding Young Person Award
Sponsored by Bond Air Services
Poppy Young, Essex and Herts Ambulance

Charity Staff Member of the Year
Sponsored by Milestone Aviation Group
Janice Flower, Essex and Herts Air Ambulance

Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year
Sponsored by Prometheus Medical Ltd
Graham Chalke, London Air Ambulance

Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year
Sponsored by Boundtree Medical
Dr Anne Weaver, London Air Ambulance

Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year
Sponsored by Quadrant Events
Captain Neil Jeffers, London Air Ambulance

Air Ambulance Campaign of the Year
Sponsored by Lottery Fundraising Services
Devon Air Ambulance—‘Devon Air Ambulance on Tour’

Charity Volunteer of the Year
Sponsored by Donorflex
Jenny Ashman, Midlands Air Ambulance

Special Incident Award
Sponsored by Eurocopter UK
Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance
Captain Max Hoskins; Paramedic Greg Peacock; Paramedic Steve Freeman

Lifetime Achievement Award
Sponsored by Medical Aviation Services
Dr Gareth Davies, London Air Ambulance

Taken from Journal of Paramedic Practice, published 26 November 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: