Playlist for Radio Show 03/03/2010

Here’s the playlist for my most recent show:

1) Remedy Feat. Miike Snow (Jeuce Rework) – Crookers
Latest single from the Italian electronic duo’s upcoming first album ‘Tons of Friends’. It’s shaping up to be a brilliant record with ‘We Love Animals’ featuring Soulwax and Mixhell being released last year. Other collaborators include Major Lazer, Spank Rock, Yelle and The Very Best. Jeuce consists of four guys from Leeds who have also remixed the likes of Ellie Goulding and Ladytron.
‘Tons of Friends’ will be released on March 8th

2) We Share Our Mother’s Health (Ratatat Remix) – The Knife
An old track coming from the Knife’s 2006 single. Thought I would play it since The Knife’s latest album ‘Tomorrow In a Year’ was released on Monday in physical form and also due to my excitement about Ratatat’s upcoming album ‘LP4’ which is rumoured at being out May 17th.

3) Swim Until You Can’t See Land – Frightened Rabbit
From Frightened Rabbit’s latest album ‘The Winter Of Mixed Drinks’ which is a much brighter affair than the previous album ‘Midnight Organ Fight’ and features more brilliant vocals from Scott Hutchinson.
‘The Winter Of Mixed Drinks’ was released on Monday

4) Atoms For Peace (Four Tet Remix) – Thom Yorke

A fantastic remix by Kieran Hebden of the track from Yorke’s debut solo album from 2006 ‘The Eraser’. The reason for choosing this track is due to some exciting news announcing the name of Thom Yorke’s new band, unsuprisingly it’s the title of this song. The band have already played together during Yorke’s tour of ‘The Eraser’ and consist of Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, Beck drummer Joey Waronker, percussionist Mauro Refosco and Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich on keyboards.
‘Atoms For Peace’ begin a tour of the US on April 5th

5) Plastic Beach – Gorillaz
From the upcoming album of the same title this track features guest appearances from the Clash’s Mick Jones and Paul Simonon. An interesting album with some excellent collaborations with Velvet Underground’s Lou Reed and Super Furry Animals frontman Gruff Rhys. The video for their latest single ‘Stylo’ has just been released featuring Bruce Willis and is definitely worth checking out. See it here.
‘Plastic Beach’ is to be released on March 8th

6) The Motion Makes Me Last – Eluvium
From the latest album by ambient recording artist Mathew Cooper which came out on February 23rd called ‘Similes’. This is the first album by Cooper containing vocals and percussion which actually works pretty well but it probably doesn’t compare to 2007 release ‘Copia’.
‘Similes’ will be released in physical form on March 8th

7) H.A.L (Capt & Cooked Remix) – SebastiAn
Old song, new remix. The single was the first from the Ed Banger member originally released in 2005. Australians Capt & Cooked have already remixed another of his songs ‘Threnody’ in January this year, the original seeing much attention from critics due to the fact that it is a 12 minute song with a 10 minute intro, some hailing it as an artistic masterpiece whilst others called it pretentious and stupid. Exciting news however, there are rumours that SebastiAn will be releasing his first album this year (about time).

8) World Sick – Broken Social Scene
Having been all over the blogs recently I thought this track warranted a playing. Taken from their upcoming album ‘Forgiveness Rock Record’ the Canadian group is an interesting one, more of a musical collective than a band due to the fact that its members are constantly changing and reaching up to 19 at any one time.
‘Forgiveness Rock Record’ is set to be released on May 4th

9) Disconnected (Ocelot Remix) – Shy Child
Taken from their latest album ‘Liquid Love’ this is a particularly good remix by the Texan duo.
‘Liquid Love’ was released on Monday

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: